When it's faster to copy data from another report than it is to type it out in a new report, use TOTAL's SmartMerge utility to merge data from another report into your current report.

To access SmartMerge when creating a legacy report or creating a UAD 3.6 report, click New on the upper left of the Appraisal Desktop or an existing report to create a new report. Then, fill out the SmartStart window as you normally would, choose the Merge Screen option, and click OK.

To access SmartMerge within an existing legacy report*, click Merge in the top toolbar at any time.

In the SmartMerge screen, choose your source file and adjust your options:

  1. In the window that appears, select the folder that contains the report or template you wish to merge from the Folders pane on the left.

  2. In the Source File pane to the right, locate and select the report that contains the data you want to merge.

  3. Choose your SmartMerge Options at the top of the screen:

    <style> dl { margin-top: .5em; } dt { font-weight: bold; } dt span { text-decoration: underline; } li:not(:last-child), dd:not(:last-child) { margin-bottom: .5em; } ol { color: rgb(38, 40, 46); font-family: -apple-system, BlinkMacSystemFont, San Francisco, Roboto, Segoe UI, Helvetica Neue, sans-serif; font-size: 18px; line-height: 27px; letter-spacing: 0.05px; list-style-type: upper-alpha; overflow-wrap: break-word;" } strong.ast { color: red; text-decoration: none !important; } </style> <ol> <li>Indicate whether you want to merge the <strong>Entire Report</strong> or <strong>Selected forms in Report</strong><strong style="color:red">*</strong>.</li> <li>Then, choose how to merge the reports for legacy, non‑UAD 3.6 report formats: <dl> <dt><span>Forms AND data</span><strong class="ast">*</strong></dt> <dd>Merges forms from the selected report, including any text data, but leaves any existing content in your current report intact.</dd> <dt><span>Forms only</span><strong class="ast">*</strong></dt> <dd>Merges in only the forms from the selected report. None of the data is transferred to your current report.</dd> <dt><span>Overwrite all target fields (Clone)</span><strong class="ast">*</strong></dt> <dd>This makes an exact duplicate of the selected report and overwrites any data in your current report, OR the sections you've selected in the report, if you're only merging specific forms.</dd> </dl> </li> <li>Once you choose how you want to merge your report, review the <strong>Include from source report</strong> section to choose what you want to include from your source file: <dl> <dt><span>Field formatting</span><strong class="ast">*</strong></dt> <dd>Merges field formatting from the source report, e.g., locked fields, numbers only, rounding, etc. When disabled, TOTAL uses your Default Field Data.</dd> <dt><span>Text formatting</span><strong class="ast">*</strong></dt> <dd>Merges text formatting from the source report, e.g., font, font style, font size, etc. When disabled, TOTAL uses your default font.</dd> <dt><span>Worksheet</span><strong class="ast">*</strong></dt> <dd>Check this option to merge the worksheet from the source report.</dd> <dt><span>Map Images</span></dt> <dd>Merges any map images from the source report, not just the map pages. When disabled, TOTAL merges blank copies of the map pages from your source report.</dd> <dt><span>Property Sketch</span></dt> <dd>Merges any sketch images from the source report, not just the sketch pages. When disabled, TOTAL merges blank copies of the sketch pages from your source report.</dd> <dt><span>Property photos</span></dt> <dd>Check this option to merge all of the photos from your source report. When disabled, TOTAL merges in just the photo pages from your source report, no photos.</dd> <dt><span>Workfile</span></dt> <dd>If enabled, TOTAL merges all the Workfile contents from your source report. This option can't be enabled by default. You must click the checkbox each time you want to merge the Workfile from your source report.</dd> <dt><span>Save the options above as my default SmartMerge options</span></dt> <dd>Select this option when setting up the above options as default. TOTAL then remembers if the options are checked instead of setting your options every time you merge. The only exception is the Workfile. Due to the potential for the Workfile to contain a large amount of data, it has to be manually checked each time you merge from your source report.</dd> </dl> </li> </ol>
  4. If you chose to merge Selected forms in report*, review the list of forms at the bottom of the screen:

    • To add or remove pages from your merge process, check the boxes beside each section listed.

    • To select all of the forms/sections, click Mark All.

    • To deselect all of the forms/sections, click Un-mark All.

  5. When you're finished, click Merge on the lower right to transfer the data you've selected.