Delete Files

Whether your five year requirement passes or you need to remove files from your Vault account to free up space, it’s easy to delete files from your Vault account.

Keep in mind:  If you have a report in a watched folder in TOTAL, it will continue to go to your Vault each time an upload is performed, even if you've previously deleted it on the Vault website.  If you're deleting files in order to create more Vault space, make sure to double‑check your upload settings too.  Click here for instructions.

To delete files from the Vault:

  1. Log in to your Vault account.
  2. Check the box or boxes next to the file(s) you wish to delete.  If you want to delete the entire current page of files, check the box in the column header.
      NOTE:

    If you want to delete an entire range of files, you can perform a search to find the files you want to delete.  For instance, if you want to find all of the files that are older than five years so that you can delete them, you'd click Search and specify a Sale Date or Inspection Date range older than 5 years.  For a more specific list, you might click the Last Updated column heading to sort the files by the last time you updated them and just select the ones you want to delete from there.

  3. Click Delete.

    Then, click Delete again to confirm that you wish to delete the selected files.

  4. Click OK to return to your list of files.

      NOTE:

    If you accidentally delete the wrong file(s), simply click Recover Now to immediately restore the file(s) you just deleted.

It’s that simple, but be careful.  Once a file is permanently deleted from the Vault, you won’t be able to retrieve it!

 


As a safeguard, Vault automatically stores a copy of any file that is deleted for 30 days.  To view the files that have been deleted, click the file view drop-down and select Deleted in the last 30 days.

In addition to retrieving files from your list of deleted files, you also have the option to recover a file and restore it to the list of files currently stored in Vault.  To recover a file from the list of deleted files:

  1. Place a checkmark next to each file you want to restore.
  2. Click Recover in the toolbar at the top.

  3. Click OK to confirm that you want to recover the selected files.

That's it!  Your files are now restored and show up alongside your other files that are currently being stored in Vault.